

No.23 March 2015

Cooperation with Nottingham Trent University, UK

Cooperation with Miami University

The 2014 Retirement Celebration

Khyentse Foundation Offers Scholarships for Arts Students

Cooperation with Nottingham Trent University (NTU), UK

Nottingham Trent University is becoming a popular destination for BALAC students, and so the Faculty was pleased to welcome its Professor Dr. Murray Pratt, the Dean of the School of Arts and Humanities, who visited the Faculty of Arts on September 17. He was received by Assistant Professor Dr. Prapod Assavavirulhakarn, the Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Associate Professor Surapeepan Chatraporn, the Deputy Dean for International Affairs, Assistant Professor Thosaeng Chaochuti, Ajarn Dr. Lowell Skar, and Ajarn Dr. Simon Turner.





Prof. Pratt had come to discuss the possibility of establishing a dual degree program between the Faculty of Arts, Chulalongkorn University, and the School of Arts and Humanities, Nottingham Trent University, which would allow students to take classes at both universities. The Arts students would spend their first year at Chula, the second year at NTU, the third year at either NTU or a European university that NTU has an agreement with, and the last year at Chula. The Dean clarified that the Faculty had to

get approval from the university prior to establishing any dual degree program; however, the Faculty can still carry out other exchange programs.

Cooperation with Miami University





On October 28, 2014, another group of guests from the United States arrived: Assist. Prof. Dr. Prapod Assavavirulhakarn, the Dean of the Faculty of Arts, and Assoc. Prof. Surapeepan Chatraporn, the Deputy Dean for International Affairs welcomed Professor Dr. Susan Morgan, Distinguished Professor of English, and Professor Dr. Eric Goodman, the Director of Low-Residency MFA and Professor of English from Miami University, USA. The purpose of their visit was to sign an agreement between Miami University and Chulalongkorn University, and to acquire information on the BALAC program to prepare for an exchange program of the two universities.

On their visit, the two professors brought along a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that was signed by the President of Miami University to present to the President of Chulalongkorn University. The Section of International Affairs forwarded the MOU to the Office of International Affairs and Networks for the President to sign.

The 2014 Retirement Celebration









Retirement celebrations are always a big draw and important event at the faculty. The Dean of the Faculty of Arts had asked the Section of International Affairs to host the 2014 celebration on Thursday, September 18, 2014, in Room 111, Maha Chulalongkorn Building. That year, nine faculty members retired: Professor Dr. Theraphan Luangthongkum, Professor Dr. Siraporn Nathalang, Associate Professor Dr. Suwanna Satha-anand, Associate Professor Dr. Wanna Saengaramruang, Associate Professor Sukanya Sujachaya, Assistant Professor Krissara Warissarapuricha, Mrs. Phatcharee Chimtaworn, Mr. Praphan Kham-orn, and Mr. Prasop Swangdee.

The event started with a performance of two songs: "Neung Nai Roi," and "Cheun Chee Wit" sung by faculty members from different departments. These included Associate Professor Surapeepan Chatraporn, Assistant Professor Sunij Sutanthavibul, Assistant Professor Sankavat Pradithpongse, Ajarn Dr. Sirivan Chulakorn, Ajarn Dr. Pasuree Leusakul, Ajarn Dr. Aratee Kaewsumrit, Ajarn Dr. Wannachai Kampeera, Assistant Professor Dr. Poramin Jaruworn, Ajarn Dr. Arthid Sheravanichkul, and Ajarn Dr. Asadayuth Chusri. Assistant Professor Dr. Duantem Krisdathanont was the pianist, and Ajarn Scott Oltmann was the guitarist. After the show, the Dean presented a flower bouquet to Associate Professor Charunee Hongcharu, the choir conductor. The Dean then delivered his remarks and opened the retirement celebration. The retired faculty members also shared their fond memories of the Faculty of Arts with the audience and expressed appreciation of the PowerPoint presentation.

The Dean presented gifts bestowed by H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn to the retired faculty members. He also presented gifts from the Faculty of Arts that engraved their names, and gifts that he had prepared for them.

Faculty members and staff expressed good wishes to the retired faculty members, and joined a snack session. The event was filled with admiration, warmth, and generally pleasant impressions amid the beautifully arranged flowers. The MCs were Assistant Professor Dr. Julispong Chularatana, Ajarn Dr. Pasuree Leusakul, and Ajarn Dr. Suebpong Changboonchoo. The event was attended by over 100 faculty members and staff.





Khyentse Foundation Offers Scholarships for Arts Students



At 11.30, on November 17, 2014, Assistant Professor Dr. Prapod Assavavirulhakarn, the Dean of the Faculty of Arts, presided over the Khyentse Foundation Scholarship Award Ceremony at the Arts Library, Maha Vajiravudh Building. Dr. Peter Skilling, the representative from the Khyentse Foundation Thailand, awarded US\$ 1,000 to Miss Chatuporn Petchaboon, a PhD candidate in Thai Folklore, Department of Thai. The scholarship committee consisted of Associate Professor Surapeepan Chatraporn, the Deputy Dean for International Affairs, Ajarn Dr. Sirivan Chulakorn, and Ajarn Dr. Charnwit Tadkaew.



The Khyentse Foundation was founded in 2001 by Mr. Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche with an aim to promote Buddhism and Buddhist studies. The Foundation supports online data management of the Tibetan Tripitaka, and Buddhist studies in universities. The Foundation has given the Faculty of Arts US\$ 3,000 to be awarded to a selected student every year for three consecutive years. Each scholarship is worth US\$ 1,000.



We are at Your Service.



The Committee Members of the Section of International Affairs, which comprises Deputy Dean Surapeepan Chatraporn, Assoc. Prof. Charunee Hongcharu, Assist. Prof. Dr. Duantem Krisdathanont, Assist. Prof. Dr. Julispong Chularatana, Dr. Sirivan Chulakorn, Dr. Anant Laulertvorakul, Dr. Nurida Hayiyakoh, Dr. Penpisa Srivoranart, Dr. Pasuree Luesakul, Dr. Suebpong Changboonchoo, Assist. Prof. Dr. Ingo Peters, Scott Oltmann, Simon Turner, Dr. Jaime Tejada, and Kankanok Singharerg as secretary, welcome advice and suggestions concerning any plans and activities. We aim to encourage a fully internationalized environment and to promote increased networking with overseas institutions and scholars. If you would like to talk to us, you can contact any of the committee members. We would be very happy to hear from you and cooperate closely with you.