In 1955, Dean of Faculty of Arts, Chulalongkorn University, Associate Professor Sayamont, envisioned the importance of the course “Library Study”, which was later enrolled as a normal course instead of an evening course, at the Faculty of Arts. Major General H.R.H. Prince Wan Waithyakon. Kromamun Naradhip Bongsprabandh marked the official commencing of the study of Library Science in Thailand after he presented the name “Library Science”.

The Faculty of Arts requested the University to establish a department for “Library Science” at the Faculty of Arts. Professor  Suthilak Ambhanwong, whom was an assistant librarian at the Central Library at Chulalongkorn University, was also a former lecturer at the Department of Thai Language and Eastern Languages, was later promoted to the Head of the Department of Library Science.

Formerly, the teachers and staff members of the Department was responsible for the teaching curriculum as well as the workload from Central Library at Chulalongkorn University, the office was then placed on the 2nd floor of the library, presently Mahavajiravudh Building. In 1975, the Department’s office was reassigned to the ground floor at the east wing of Mahavajiravudh Building, and in 1994 the office moved to the 8th floor of the Barommarajakumari Building, which is currently the office of the Department of Library Science.

In the educational aspect, the first course that was established in 1955 is the Diploma in Library Studies. It is a 1 year course, and in the first year, there are 8 students whom enrolled in this course. Later in 1959, they opened a Bachelor’s Degree course, which is one of the Major subjects for the 3rd and 4th year students at the Faculty of Arts. In 1964, the Master’s Degree course in Library Science was opened and there are 7 students whom enrolled in this course. The courses were then adjusted from there onwards.

In 1979, the Division of Library Science was renamed to “Department of Library Science” in accordance with Chulalongkorn University Act B.E. 2522 (1979A.D.). Presently, the Department of Library Science offers 2 degrees, Bachelor of Arts in Information Science and Master of Arts in Library and Information Science.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.